South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa vs South Africa Retired Person Visa
South Africa passive income route: 48 months. South Africa retirement route: $36 fee, 30 months.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Duration
- 48 months
- Income
- $2,050/mo
- Fee
- $36
- Duration
- 30 months
Next steps
South Africa Financially Independent
South Africa Retired Person
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa
South Africa Retired Person Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Passive income | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 48 (Longest initial stay) | 30 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Not specified | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | 18 | Not specified |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Specific countries only |
| Field | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | Not specified | $2,050 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | Not specified | $36 |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $36 |
| Field | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Not specified | Pension or Social Security, Savings, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | Yes (Pension income recognized) |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | 0% |
| Field | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | Not specified | 4 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | Not specified | 12.9 weeks |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | No |
| Years to permanent residency | 5 years | Not specified |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Field | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | No | No |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |