Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency vs Sweden Self-Employment Permit
Serbia freelancer route: $222 fee, 36 months. Sweden freelancer route: 24 months.
Built for: Freelancers.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Fee
- $222
- Duration
- 36 months
- Processing
- 3-9 weeks
- Duration
- 24 months
Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency
Sweden Self-Employment Permit
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Extra income per child dependent
Employment types accepted
Local work permitted
Requires employer sponsorship
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Language requirement
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Freelancer | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 36 (Longest initial stay) | 24 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Freelancers | Freelancers |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $20,700 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $222 | Not specified |
| Renewal cost, one time | $222 | $190 (Lowest known renewal cost) |
| Extra income per adult dependent | Not specified | 50% |
| Extra income per child dependent | Not specified | 25% |
| Field | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Employment types accepted | Self-employed, Business owner | Self-employed, Business owner |
| Local work permitted | Yes (Local work permitted) | No |
| Requires employer sponsorship | No | Not specified |
| Field | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 3 weeks | Not specified |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 9 weeks | Not specified |
| Where to apply | Online on the Foreign Nationals’ Portal, where single permit filings are electronic only, followed by a biometric...See where to apply on the visa page | 3 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | Not specified | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 3 years | Not specified |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 9 years | Not specified |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | 180 days | Not specified |
| Field | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Not specified |
| US tax treaty | No treaty | Not specified |
| Field | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Local bank account required | Not specified | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | Not specified |
| US FBI background check required | Not specified | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Language requirement | No language test is applied to the residence application. | Documented relevant knowledge in Swedish and/or English required; very good Swedish if extensive local contacts (e.g... |
| Required documents | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page |