Paraguay Pensionado Visa vs South Africa Retired Person Visa
Paraguay retirement route: $370 fee, 6 months. South Africa retirement route: $36 fee, 30 months.
- Paraguay Pensionado: $1,300 a month, $750 less than South Africa Retired Person.
- South Africa Retired Person: $36 to apply, $334 less than Paraguay Pensionado.
- South Africa Retired Person: about 8.5 weeks, 44.1 weeks sooner than Paraguay Pensionado.
Built for: FIRE, Retirees and Passive investors.
- Income
- $1,300/mo
- Fee
- $370
- Duration
- 6 months
- Income
- $2,050/mo
- Fee
- $36
- Duration
- 30 months
Next steps
Paraguay Pensionado
South Africa Retired Person
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Paraguay Pensionado Visa
South Africa Retired Person Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 6 | 30 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | No | Yes (Renewable) |
| Built for | FIRE, Retirees, Passive investors | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Specific countries only |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,300 (Lowest known income requirement) | $2,050 |
| Minimum savings, one time | $200,000 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $370 | $36 (Lowest known fee) |
| Renewal cost, one time | $0 (Lowest known renewal cost) | $36 |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Passive income | Pension or Social Security, Savings, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes (Social Security counts) | No |
| Pension income recognized | Yes | Yes |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 0% |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 4 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 104 weeks | 12.9 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | No |
| Years to permanent residency | 2 years | Not specified |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | 180 days | Not specified |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | 1,095 days | Not specified |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Not specified | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | South Africa Retired Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | No (No apostille needed) |
| US FBI background check required | Yes | No (No US FBI background check needed) |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |