Paraguay Pensionado Visa vs Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista)
Paraguay retirement route: $370 fee, 6 months. Peru retirement route: $1,000 a month.
- Peru Retirement Rentista: $1,000 a month, $300 less than Paraguay Pensionado.
- Peru Retirement Rentista: about 10 weeks, 42.5 weeks sooner than Paraguay Pensionado.
Built for: FIRE, Retirees and Passive investors.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Income
- $1,300/mo
- Fee
- $370
- Duration
- 6 months
- Income
- $1,000/mo
- Processing
- 6-14 weeks
Next steps
Paraguay Pensionado
Peru Retirement Rentista
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Paraguay Pensionado Visa
Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista)
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista) |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 6 | Not specified |
| Renewable | No | No |
| Built for | FIRE, Retirees, Passive investors | FIRE, Retirees, Passive investors |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista) |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,300 | $1,000 (Lowest known income requirement) |
| Minimum savings, one time | $200,000 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $370 | Not specified |
| Renewal cost, one time | $0 | $0 |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista) |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Passive income | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes | Yes |
| Pension income recognized | Yes | Yes |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 0% |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista) |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 6 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 104 weeks | 14 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | Not specified | Online through the Migraciones Agencia Digital. The visa route is filed by applicants outside Peru. Applicants already...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista) |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Not specified |
| Years to permanent residency | 2 years | Not specified |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not specified |
| Days in country, per year | 180 days | Not specified |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | 1,095 days | Not specified |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Not specified | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | No treaty |
| Field | Paraguay Pensionado Visa | Peru Retirement Visa (Rentista) |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | No (No local bank account needed) | Yes |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | Yes | Not specified |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | Not specified | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page |