Panama Self-Employed / Remote Worker Permit vs Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency
Panama freelancer route: 9 months, $3,000 a month. Serbia freelancer route: $222 fee, 36 months.
Built for: Digital nomads and Freelancers.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Income
- $3,000/mo
- Duration
- 9 months
- Fee
- $222
- Duration
- 36 months
- Processing
- 3-9 weeks
Next steps
Panama Self-Employed /
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Panama Self-Employed / Remote Worker Permit
Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Requires employer sponsorship
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Language requirement
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Panama Self-Employed / Remote Worker Permit | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Freelancer | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 9 | 36 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Not specified | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees | Digital nomads, Freelancers |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Panama Self-Employed / Remote Worker Permit | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $3,000 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | Not specified | $222 |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $222 |
| Field | Panama Self-Employed / Remote Worker Permit | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Remote work | Not specified |
| Employment types accepted | W-2 employee, 1099 contractor, Self-employed | Self-employed, Business owner |
| Social Security counts as income | No | Not specified |
| Pension income recognized | No | Not specified |
| Local work permitted | Yes | Yes |
| Requires employer sponsorship | Not specified | No |
| Field | Panama Self-Employed / Remote Worker Permit | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | Not specified | 3 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | Not specified | 9 weeks |
| Where to apply | Not specified | Online on the Foreign Nationals’ Portal, where single permit filings are electronic only, followed by a biometric...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | Not specified |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Panama Self-Employed / Remote Worker Permit | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 3 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | 9 years |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | Not specified | 180 days |
| Field | Panama Self-Employed / Remote Worker Permit | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | No treaty |
| Field | Panama Self-Employed / Remote Worker Permit | Serbia Self-Employed (Preduzetnik) Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Not specified |
| Local bank account required | No | Not specified |
| Apostille required | No (No apostille needed) | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | Not specified |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Language requirement | Not specified | No language test is applied to the residence application. |
| Required documents | Not specified | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page |