Mauritius Retirement Permit vs Paraguay Pensionado Visa
Mauritius retirement route: $1,000 fee, 60 months. Paraguay retirement route: $370 fee, 6 months.
- Paraguay Pensionado: $1,300 a month, $22,700 less than Mauritius Retirement.
- Paraguay Pensionado: $370 to apply, $630 less than Mauritius Retirement.
Built for: Retirees, FIRE and Passive investors.
- Income
- $24,000/mo
- Fee
- $1,000
- Duration
- 60 months
- Income
- $1,300/mo
- Fee
- $370
- Duration
- 6 months
Next steps
Mauritius Retirement
Paraguay Pensionado
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Mauritius Retirement Permit
Paraguay Pensionado Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Mauritius Retirement Permit | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 60 (Longest initial stay) | 6 |
| Renewable | Yes (Renewable) | No |
| Built for | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors | FIRE, Retirees, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | 50 | Not specified |
| Practical minimum age, years | 50 | Not specified |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Mauritius Retirement Permit | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $24,000 | $1,300 (Lowest known income requirement) |
| Minimum savings, one time | $11,921 (Lowest known savings requirement) | $200,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | $24,000 | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Business creation, Real estate | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $1,000 | $370 (Lowest known fee) |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $0 |
| Field | Mauritius Retirement Permit | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Savings, Passive income | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | No | Yes (Social Security counts) |
| Pension income recognized | Yes | Yes |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Mauritius Retirement Permit | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | Not specified | 1 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | Not specified | 104 weeks |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Mauritius Retirement Permit | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes (Path to permanent residency) | No |
| Years to permanent residency | 5 years | 2 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not specified | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | 180 days | 180 days |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | Not specified | 1,095 days |
| Field | Mauritius Retirement Permit | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Remittance based | Not specified |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Mauritius Retirement Permit | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | No (No apostille needed) | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No (No US FBI background check needed) | Yes |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |