Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit vs South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa
A field-by-field visa comparison built from each route's published requirements.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Duration
- 48 months
Next steps
Kenya Business /
South Africa Financially Independent
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit
South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Freelancer | Passive income |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | Not specified | 48 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Field | Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 0% |
| Field | Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | No |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 5 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Field | Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Not specified | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit | South Africa Financially Independent Person Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Not specified | No |
| US FBI background check required | Not specified | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |