Honduras Pensionado vs Nicaragua Pensionado
Honduras retirement route: $15 fee, 6 months. Nicaragua retirement route: 12 months, $1,200 a month.
- Nicaragua Pensionado: $1,200 a month, $300 less than Honduras Pensionado.
- Nicaragua Pensionado: about 30.5 weeks, 21.5 weeks sooner than Honduras Pensionado.
Built for: Retirees and FIRE.
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $15
- Duration
- 6 months
- Income
- $1,200/mo
- Duration
- 12 months
- Processing
- 26-35 weeks
Next steps
Honduras Pensionado
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Honduras Pensionado
Nicaragua Pensionado
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Nicaragua Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 6 | 12 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Retirees, FIRE | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Practical minimum age, years | 55 | Not specified |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Nicaragua Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,500 | $1,200 (Lowest known income requirement) |
| Minimum investment, one time | $50,000 | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $15 | Not specified |
| Extra income per adult dependent | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Nicaragua Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Passive income | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes | Yes |
| Pension income recognized | Yes | Yes |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 0% |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Nicaragua Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 26 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 35 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | Not specified | In person at the General Directorate of Migration and Foreigners in Managua. The applicant files personally and stays...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | Not specified |
| Medical exam required | No (No medical exam required) | Yes |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Nicaragua Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes (Path to permanent residency) | No |
| Years to permanent residency | 1 years | Not specified |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 4 years | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | 360 days | Not specified |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | 360 days | Not specified |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Nicaragua Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Territorial |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | No treaty |
| Field | Honduras Pensionado | Nicaragua Pensionado |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | Yes | Not specified |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | Not specified | 6 items listedSee full list on the visa page |