Guatemala Pensionado vs Paraguay Pensionado Visa
Guatemala retirement route: $25 fee, 24 months. Paraguay retirement route: $370 fee, 6 months.
- Guatemala Pensionado: $1,250 a month, $50 less than Paraguay Pensionado.
- Guatemala Pensionado: $25 to apply, $345 less than Paraguay Pensionado.
- Guatemala Pensionado: about 28 weeks, 24.5 weeks sooner than Paraguay Pensionado.
Built for: Retirees and Passive investors.
- Income
- $1,250/mo
- Fee
- $25
- Duration
- 24 months
- Income
- $1,300/mo
- Fee
- $370
- Duration
- 6 months
Next steps
Paraguay Pensionado
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Guatemala Pensionado
Paraguay Pensionado Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Extra income per child dependent
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Guatemala Pensionado | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 24 (Longest initial stay) | 6 |
| Renewable | Yes (Renewable) | No |
| Built for | Retirees, Passive investors | FIRE, Retirees, Passive investors |
| Practical minimum age, years | 50 | Not specified |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Guatemala Pensionado | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,250 (Lowest known income requirement) | $1,300 |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $200,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $25 (Lowest known fee) | $370 |
| Renewal cost, one time | $40 | $0 (Lowest known renewal cost) |
| Extra income per adult dependent | 24% | Not specified |
| Extra income per child dependent | 24% | Not specified |
| Field | Guatemala Pensionado | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Passive income | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | No | Yes (Social Security counts) |
| Pension income recognized | No | Yes (Pension income recognized) |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Guatemala Pensionado | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 4 weeks | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 52 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 104 weeks |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Guatemala Pensionado | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes (Path to permanent residency) | No |
| Years to permanent residency | 3 years | 2 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 8 years | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 180 days |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | Not specified | 1,095 days |
| Field | Guatemala Pensionado | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Not specified |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Guatemala Pensionado | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No (No insurance requirement) | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | Yes | Yes |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |