Ecuador Investor Visa vs Honduras Rentista Visa
Ecuador investor route: $50 fee, 24 months. Honduras passive income route: $150 fee, 6 months.
- Ecuador Investor: $482 a month, $2,018 less than Honduras Rentista.
- Ecuador Investor: $50 to apply, $100 less than Honduras Rentista.
- Honduras Rentista: about 21.7 weeks, 4.9 weeks sooner than Ecuador Investor.
Built for: FIRE, Retirees and Passive investors.
- Income
- $482/mo
- Fee
- $50
- Duration
- 24 months
- Income
- $2,500/mo
- Fee
- $150
- Duration
- 6 months
Next steps
Ecuador Investor
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Ecuador Investor Visa
Honduras Rentista Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
US tax treaty
| Field | Ecuador Investor Visa | Honduras Rentista Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Investor | Passive income |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 24 (Longest initial stay) | 6 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | FIRE, Retirees, Passive investors | FIRE, Retirees, Digital nomads, Freelancers, Passive investors, Remote employees |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Ecuador Investor Visa | Honduras Rentista Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $482 (Lowest known income requirement) | $2,500 |
| Minimum savings, one time | $48,200 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | $48,200 (Lowest known investment) | $50,000 |
| Investment types | Real estate, Business creation, Capital transfer | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $50 (Lowest known fee) | $150 |
| Field | Ecuador Investor Visa | Honduras Rentista Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Not specified | Remote work, Pension or Social Security, Savings, Passive income, Business income |
| Employment types accepted | Not specified | W-2 employee, 1099 contractor, Business owner, Self-employed |
| Social Security counts as income | No | Yes (Social Security counts) |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Field | Ecuador Investor Visa | Honduras Rentista Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 4.3 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 39 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Ecuador Investor Visa | Honduras Rentista Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | No |
| Years to permanent residency | 1.8 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) | 5 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 1 days |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | 180 days | Not specified |
| Field | Ecuador Investor Visa | Honduras Rentista Visa |
|---|---|---|
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Ecuador Investor Visa | Honduras Rentista Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | Not specified | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | Yes | Yes |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |