Spain Startup Visa (Ley de Startups) vs Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo)
Spain freelancer route: $94 fee, 12 months. Spain freelancer route: $91 fee, 1 months.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Fee
- $94
- Duration
- 12 months
- Income
- $3,194/mo
- Fee
- $91
- Duration
- 1 months
Next steps
Spain Startup Ley
Spain Freelance Autónomo
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Spain Startup Visa (Ley de Startups)
Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo)
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Employment types accepted
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
US tax treaty
| Field | Spain Startup Visa (Ley de Startups) | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Freelancer | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 (Longest initial stay) | 1 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Not specified | Freelancers |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Non-EU nationals only |
| Field | Spain Startup Visa (Ley de Startups) | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | Not specified | $3,194 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $94 | $91 (Lowest known fee) |
| Field | Spain Startup Visa (Ley de Startups) | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Employment types accepted | Not specified | Self-employed |
| Pension income recognized | No | Not specified |
| Local work permitted | Not specified | No |
| Field | Spain Startup Visa (Ley de Startups) | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | Not specified | 13 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | Not specified | 26 weeks |
| Where to apply | Not specified | Apply in person at the Spanish consulate or embassy in your home country for the initial visa. Cannot apply from within...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Spain Startup Visa (Ley de Startups) | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 5 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | 15 years |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 183 days |
| Field | Spain Startup Visa (Ley de Startups) | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Spain Startup Visa (Ley de Startups) | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | No (No local bank account needed) | Yes |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | Not specified | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page |