Morocco Digital Nomad Visa vs South Africa Digital Nomad Visa
Morocco digital nomad route: 12 months. South Africa digital nomad route: $26 fee, 36 months.
- Morocco Digital Nomad: about 4.5 weeks, 1.5 weeks sooner than South Africa Digital Nomad.
- Morocco Digital Nomad: 183 days a year required, 92 more than South Africa Digital Nomad.
Built for: Digital nomads and Remote employees.
- Duration
- 12 months
- Processing
- 0.3-8.7 weeks
- Income
- $2,950/mo
- Fee
- $26
- Duration
- 36 months
Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Morocco Digital Nomad Visa
South Africa Digital Nomad Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Morocco Digital Nomad Visa | South Africa Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Digital nomad | Digital nomad |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 | 36 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Yes (Renewable) | No |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees | Remote employees, Digital nomads |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | 18 | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Morocco Digital Nomad Visa | South Africa Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | Not specified | $2,950 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | Not specified | $26 |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $36 |
| Field | Morocco Digital Nomad Visa | South Africa Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Not specified | Remote work |
| Employment types accepted | Not specified | W-2 employee, 1099 contractor |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | Not specified | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | 0% |
| Field | Morocco Digital Nomad Visa | South Africa Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 0.3 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 4 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 8.7 weeks | 8 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Morocco Digital Nomad Visa | South Africa Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Not specified | No |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not specified | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | 183 days | 91 days (Fewest days required in country) |
| Field | Morocco Digital Nomad Visa | South Africa Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Partial treaty |
| Field | Morocco Digital Nomad Visa | South Africa Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No | No |
| Local bank account required | Not specified | No |
| Apostille required | No (No apostille needed) | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page |