Ecuador Pensionado Visa vs Paraguay Pensionado Visa
Ecuador retirement route: $1,500 fee, 24 months. Paraguay retirement route: $370 fee, 6 months.
- Paraguay Pensionado: $1,300 a month, $146 less than Ecuador Pensionado.
- Paraguay Pensionado: $370 to apply, $1,130 less than Ecuador Pensionado.
- Ecuador Pensionado: about 20 weeks, 32.5 weeks sooner than Paraguay Pensionado.
- Paraguay Pensionado: 180 days a year required, 180 more than Ecuador Pensionado.
Built for: Retirees.
- Income
- $1,446/mo
- Fee
- $1,500
- Duration
- 24 months
- Income
- $1,300/mo
- Fee
- $370
- Duration
- 6 months
Next steps
Ecuador Pensionado
Paraguay Pensionado
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Ecuador Pensionado Visa
Paraguay Pensionado Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Extra income per child dependent
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
US tax treaty
| Field | Ecuador Pensionado Visa | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 24 (Longest initial stay) | 6 |
| Renewable | Yes (Renewable) | No |
| Built for | Retirees | FIRE, Retirees, Passive investors |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Ecuador Pensionado Visa | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,446 | $1,300 (Lowest known income requirement) |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $200,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $1,500 | $370 (Lowest known fee) |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $0 |
| Extra income per adult dependent | 17% | Not specified |
| Extra income per child dependent | 17% | Not specified |
| Field | Ecuador Pensionado Visa | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes | Yes |
| Pension income recognized | No | Yes (Pension income recognized) |
| Local work permitted | Yes (Local work permitted) | No |
| Field | Ecuador Pensionado Visa | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 16 weeks | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 24 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 104 weeks |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Ecuador Pensionado Visa | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes (Path to permanent residency) | No |
| Years to permanent residency | 1.8 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) | 2 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 6.8 years | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | 0 days (Fewest days required in country) | 180 days |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | 90 days | 1,095 days (Longest allowed absence) |
| Field | Ecuador Pensionado Visa | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Ecuador Pensionado Visa | Paraguay Pensionado Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No (No US FBI background check needed) | Yes |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |