Canada Self-Employed Persons Program vs Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo)
Canada freelancer route. Spain freelancer route: $91 fee, 1 months.
Built for: Freelancers.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Income
- $3,194/mo
- Fee
- $91
- Duration
- 1 months
Next steps
Spain Freelance Autónomo
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Canada Self-Employed Persons Program
Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo)
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Canada Self-Employed Persons Program | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Freelancer | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | Not specified | 1 |
| Renewable | No | Yes (Renewable) |
| Built for | Freelancers, Passive investors | Freelancers |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Non-EU nationals only |
| Field | Canada Self-Employed Persons Program | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | Not specified | $3,194 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | Not specified | $91 |
| Field | Canada Self-Employed Persons Program | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Employment types accepted | Self-employed | Self-employed |
| Social Security counts as income | No | Not specified |
| Pension income recognized | No | Not specified |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Field | Canada Self-Employed Persons Program | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | Not specified | 13 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | Not specified | 26 weeks |
| Where to apply | Not specified | Apply in person at the Spanish consulate or embassy in your home country for the initial visa. Cannot apply from within...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Canada Self-Employed Persons Program | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 0 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) | 5 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not specified | 15 years |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 183 days |
| Field | Canada Self-Employed Persons Program | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Not specified |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Canada Self-Employed Persons Program | Spain Freelance Visa (Autónomo) |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No | No |
| Local bank account required | No (No local bank account needed) | Yes |
| Apostille required | No (No apostille needed) | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | Not specified | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page |