Paraguay Temporary Residency vs Uruguay Temporary Residency
Paraguay passive income route: $380 fee, 24 months. Uruguay passive income route: 24 months, $1,500 a month.
- Paraguay Temporary: about 11.8 weeks, 0.3 weeks sooner than Uruguay Temporary.
- Uruguay Temporary: 183 days a year required, 183 more than Paraguay Temporary.
Built for: Remote employees.
- Fee
- $380
- Duration
- 24 months
- Processing
- 6.4-17.1 weeks
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Duration
- 24 months
- Processing
- 12-12 weeks
Next steps
Paraguay Temporary
Uruguay Temporary
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Paraguay Temporary Residency
Uruguay Temporary Residency
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Paraguay Temporary Residency | Uruguay Temporary Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Passive income | Passive income |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 24 | 24 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Retirees, Remote employees | Remote employees, Freelancers |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Specific countries only |
| Field | Paraguay Temporary Residency | Uruguay Temporary Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | Not specified | $1,500 |
| Minimum savings, one time | $5,000 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $380 | Not specified |
| Field | Paraguay Temporary Residency | Uruguay Temporary Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Social Security counts as income | No | Not specified |
| Pension income recognized | Not specified | Yes |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Paraguay Temporary Residency | Uruguay Temporary Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 6.4 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 12 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 17.1 weeks | 12 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | Apply in-country after entering on tourist visa via online portal at gub.uy (create Digital ID) or immigration offices...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | Not specified | No |
| Field | Paraguay Temporary Residency | Uruguay Temporary Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to permanent residency | 2 years | Not specified |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not specified |
| Days in country, per year | 0 days (Fewest days required in country) | 183 days |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | 365 days | Not specified |
| Field | Paraguay Temporary Residency | Uruguay Temporary Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Hybrid |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Paraguay Temporary Residency | Uruguay Temporary Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page |