Nicaragua Pensionado vs Uruguay Retirement Visa
Nicaragua retirement route: 12 months, $1,200 a month. Uruguay retirement route: $100 fee, 3 months.
- Nicaragua Pensionado: $1,200 a month, $300 less than Uruguay Retirement.
- Uruguay Retirement: about 7 weeks, 23.5 weeks sooner than Nicaragua Pensionado.
Built for: Retirees, FIRE and Passive investors.
- Income
- $1,200/mo
- Duration
- 12 months
- Processing
- 26-35 weeks
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $100
- Duration
- 3 months
Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Nicaragua Pensionado
Uruguay Retirement Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Nicaragua Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 (Longest initial stay) | 3 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Nicaragua Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,200 (Lowest known income requirement) | $1,500 |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $24,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | $100,000 |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Real estate, Government bonds |
| Application fee, one time | Not specified | $100 |
| Field | Nicaragua Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Passive income | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes (Social Security counts) | No |
| Pension income recognized | Yes (Pension income recognized) | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | 36% (Highest local income allowance) |
| Field | Nicaragua Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 26 weeks | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 35 weeks | 13 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | In person at the General Directorate of Migration and Foreigners in Managua. The applicant files personally and stays...See where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | Not specified | No |
| Medical exam required | Yes | No (No medical exam required) |
| Field | Nicaragua Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 0 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | 5 years |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 180 days |
| Field | Nicaragua Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Hybrid |
| US tax treaty | No treaty | Not specified |
| Field | Nicaragua Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No | No |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | Not specified | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 6 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |