Kenya Digital Nomad Visa vs Thailand Digital Nomad Visa (DEST)
Kenya digital nomad route: $200 fee, 12 months. Thailand digital nomad route: $270 fee, 6 months.
Built for: Digital nomads, Freelancers and Remote employees.
- Income
- $4,583/mo
- Fee
- $200
- Duration
- 12 months
- Fee
- $270
- Duration
- 6 months
Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Kenya Digital Nomad Visa
Thailand Digital Nomad Visa (DEST)
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa | Thailand Digital Nomad Visa (DEST) |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Digital nomad | Digital nomad |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 (Longest initial stay) | 6 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 20 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 20 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa | Thailand Digital Nomad Visa (DEST) |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $4,583 | Not specified |
| Minimum savings, one time | $53,922 | $13,700 (Lowest known savings requirement) |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $200 (Lowest known fee) | $270 |
| Renewal cost, one time | $1,000 | $270 (Lowest known renewal cost) |
| Field | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa | Thailand Digital Nomad Visa (DEST) |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Remote work, Business income | Not specified |
| Employment types accepted | 1099 contractor, Self-employed, Business owner | 1099 contractor, Self-employed |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa | Thailand Digital Nomad Visa (DEST) |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 2 weeks | Not specified |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 4 weeks | Not specified |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | Apply outside Thailand only via Thai embassies, consulates, or the official Thai e-Visa platform...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa | Thailand Digital Nomad Visa (DEST) |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | No |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | 183 days | Not specified |
| Field | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa | Thailand Digital Nomad Visa (DEST) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Territorial |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Yes, full treaty |
| Field | Kenya Digital Nomad Visa | Thailand Digital Nomad Visa (DEST) |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No | No |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | No | No |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 6 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 5 items listedSee full list on the visa page |