Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit vs Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed)
Kenya freelancer route. Mauritius freelancer route: $1,000 fee, 120 months.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Fee
- $1,000
- Duration
- 120 months
Next steps
Kenya Business /
Mauritius Occupation Self-Employed
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit
Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed)
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
US tax treaty
| Field | Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Freelancer | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | Not specified | 120 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Not specified | Freelancers, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $50,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | $50,000 |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Business creation, Capital transfer |
| Application fee, one time | Not specified | $1,000 |
| Field | Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Not specified | Business income |
| Employment types accepted | Not specified | Business owner, Self-employed |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | Not specified |
| Local work permitted | No | Yes (Local work permitted) |
| Field | Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) |
|---|---|---|
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | No |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Field | Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) |
|---|---|---|
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Kenya Business / Self-Employment Permit | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No (No local bank account needed) | Yes |
| Apostille required | Not specified | No |
| US FBI background check required | Not specified | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |