Guatemala Pensionado vs Uruguay Retirement Visa
Guatemala retirement route: $25 fee, 24 months. Uruguay retirement route: $100 fee, 3 months.
- Guatemala Pensionado: $1,250 a month, $250 less than Uruguay Retirement.
- Guatemala Pensionado: $25 to apply, $75 less than Uruguay Retirement.
- Uruguay Retirement: about 7 weeks, 21 weeks sooner than Guatemala Pensionado.
- Uruguay Retirement: PR in 0 years, 3 sooner than Guatemala Pensionado.
Built for: Retirees and Passive investors.
- Income
- $1,250/mo
- Fee
- $25
- Duration
- 24 months
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $100
- Duration
- 3 months
Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Guatemala Pensionado
Uruguay Retirement Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Extra income per child dependent
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Guatemala Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 24 (Longest initial stay) | 3 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Retirees, Passive investors | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | 50 (Lowest practical minimum age) | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Guatemala Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,250 (Lowest known income requirement) | $1,500 |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $24,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | $100,000 |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Real estate, Government bonds |
| Application fee, one time | $25 (Lowest known fee) | $100 |
| Renewal cost, one time | $40 | Not specified |
| Extra income per adult dependent | 24% | Not specified |
| Extra income per child dependent | 24% | Not specified |
| Field | Guatemala Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Passive income | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | 36% (Highest local income allowance) |
| Field | Guatemala Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 4 weeks | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 13 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Guatemala Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 3 years | 0 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 8 years | 5 years (Shortest known path to citizenship) |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 180 days |
| Field | Guatemala Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Hybrid |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Guatemala Pensionado | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No | No |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | Yes | No (No US FBI background check needed) |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |