France Digital Nomad Visa vs South Africa Digital Nomad Visa
France digital nomad route: $113 fee, 12 months. South Africa digital nomad route: $26 fee, 36 months.
- South Africa Digital Nomad: $26 to apply, $87 less than France Digital Nomad.
- South Africa Digital Nomad: about 6 weeks, 20.5 weeks sooner than France Digital Nomad.
Built for: Digital nomads and Remote employees.
- Fee
- $113
- Duration
- 12 months
- Processing
- 1-52 weeks
- Income
- $2,950/mo
- Fee
- $26
- Duration
- 36 months
Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
France Digital Nomad Visa
South Africa Digital Nomad Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Minimum lease, months
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | France Digital Nomad Visa | South Africa Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Digital nomad | Digital nomad |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 | 36 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | No | No |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees | Remote employees, Digital nomads |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | France Digital Nomad Visa | South Africa Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | Not specified | $2,950 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $113 | $26 (Lowest known fee) |
| Renewal cost, one time | $113 | $36 (Lowest known renewal cost) |
| Field | France Digital Nomad Visa | South Africa Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Not specified | Remote work |
| Employment types accepted | Not specified | W-2 employee, 1099 contractor |
| Social Security counts as income | Not specified | No |
| Pension income recognized | Not specified | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | 0% |
| Field | France Digital Nomad Visa | South Africa Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 4 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 52 weeks | 8 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | Not specified | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | France Digital Nomad Visa | South Africa Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | No |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 91 days |
| Field | France Digital Nomad Visa | South Africa Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Not specified | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Partial treaty |
| Field | France Digital Nomad Visa | South Africa Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No | No |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Minimum lease, months | 12 months | Not specified |
| Required documents | 13 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page |