Dominican Republic Retirement Visa vs Uruguay Retirement Visa
Dominican Republic retirement route: $150 fee, 12 months. Uruguay retirement route: $100 fee, 3 months.
- Uruguay Retirement: $100 to apply, $50 less than Dominican Republic Retirement.
- Dominican Republic Retirement: about 3.5 weeks, 3.5 weeks sooner than Uruguay Retirement.
Built for: Retirees.
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $150
- Duration
- 12 months
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $100
- Duration
- 3 months
Next steps
Dominican Republic Retirement
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Dominican Republic Retirement Visa
Uruguay Retirement Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Extra income per child dependent
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Dominican Republic Retirement Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 (Longest initial stay) | 3 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Retirees | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | 50 (Lowest practical minimum age) | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Dominican Republic Retirement Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,500 | $1,500 |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $24,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | $100,000 |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Real estate, Government bonds |
| Application fee, one time | $150 | $100 (Lowest known fee) |
| Extra income per adult dependent | 16.7% | Not specified |
| Extra income per child dependent | 16.7% | Not specified |
| Field | Dominican Republic Retirement Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes (Social Security counts) | No |
| Pension income recognized | Yes (Pension income recognized) | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 36% |
| Field | Dominican Republic Retirement Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 3 weeks | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 4 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 13 weeks |
| Where to apply | Apply at a Dominican consulate if from abroad, or directly at the immigration office if already inside the Dominican...See where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | Not specified | No |
| Field | Dominican Republic Retirement Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 0 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | 5 years |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 180 days |
| Field | Dominican Republic Retirement Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Hybrid |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Dominican Republic Retirement Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | Not specified | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 6 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |