Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa vs Uruguay Retirement Visa
Dominican Republic passive income route: $10 fee, 12 months. Uruguay retirement route: $100 fee, 3 months.
- Dominican Republic Rentista /: $10 to apply, $90 less than Uruguay Retirement.
- Dominican Republic Rentista /: about 0.7 weeks, 6.3 weeks sooner than Uruguay Retirement.
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $10
- Duration
- 12 months
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $100
- Duration
- 3 months
Next steps
Dominican Republic Rentista /
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa
Uruguay Retirement Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Passive income | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 (Longest initial stay) | 3 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Not specified | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,500 | $1,500 |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $24,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | $200,000 | $100,000 (Lowest known investment) |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Real estate, Government bonds |
| Application fee, one time | $10 (Lowest known fee) | $100 |
| Field | Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Not specified | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes (Social Security counts) | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | 36% (Highest local income allowance) |
| Field | Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 0.7 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 1 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 0.7 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 13 weeks |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to permanent residency | 2 years | 0 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | 5 years |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 180 days |
| Field | Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Not specified | Hybrid |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Dominican Republic Rentista / Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |