Dominica Citizenship by Investment vs Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP)
Dominica golden visa route: $7,500 fee. Malta golden visa route: $17 fee, 12 months.
- Malta MPRP: $17 to apply, $7,483 less than Dominica Citizenship Investment.
- Malta MPRP: about 20 weeks, 11.5 weeks sooner than Dominica Citizenship Investment.
Built for: Passive investors.
- Fee
- $7,500
- Processing
- 24-39 weeks
- Fee
- $17
- Duration
- 12 months
- Processing
- 16-24 weeks
Next steps
Malta MPRP
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Dominica Citizenship by Investment
Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP)
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Minimum lease, months
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Dominica Citizenship by Investment | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Golden visa | Golden visa |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | Not specified | 12 |
| Renewable | No | Yes (Renewable) |
| Built for | Passive investors | Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | 18 | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | 18 | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Non-EU nationals only |
| Field | Dominica Citizenship by Investment | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $500,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | $200,000 | $192,974 (Lowest known investment) |
| Investment types | Real estate, Capital transfer | Real estate, Capital transfer |
| Application fee, one time | $7,500 | $17 (Lowest known fee) |
| Renewal cost, one time | $0 | Not specified |
| Field | Dominica Citizenship by Investment | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) |
|---|---|---|
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | Yes (Local work permitted) | No |
| Field | Dominica Citizenship by Investment | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 24 weeks | 16 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 39 weeks | 24 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | Yes | No (No interview required) |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Dominica Citizenship by Investment | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not specified |
| Days in country, per year | 0 days | 0 days |
| Field | Dominica Citizenship by Investment | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Remittance based |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Dominica Citizenship by Investment | Malta Permanent Residence Programme (MPRP) |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No (No insurance requirement) | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | No | No |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Minimum lease, months | Not specified | 60 months |
| Required documents | 11 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |