Cyprus Digital Nomad Visa vs Sweden Self-Employment Permit
Cyprus digital nomad route: $80 fee, 12 months. Sweden freelancer route: 24 months.
Built for: Freelancers.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Income
- $3,997/mo
- Fee
- $80
- Duration
- 12 months
- Duration
- 24 months
Next steps
Cyprus Digital Nomad
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Cyprus Digital Nomad Visa
Sweden Self-Employment Permit
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Extra income per child dependent
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Language requirement
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Maximum consecutive days abroad
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Cyprus Digital Nomad Visa | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Digital nomad | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 | 24 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees | Freelancers |
| Minimum age, years | 18 | Not specified |
| Practical minimum age, years | 18 | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Non-EU nationals only | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Cyprus Digital Nomad Visa | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $3,997 | Not specified |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $20,700 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $80 | Not specified |
| Renewal cost, one time | $80 (Lowest known renewal cost) | $190 |
| Extra income per adult dependent | 20% (Lowest known adult dependent add-on) | 50% |
| Extra income per child dependent | 15% (Lowest known child dependent add-on) | 25% |
| Field | Cyprus Digital Nomad Visa | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Remote work, Business income | Not specified |
| Employment types accepted | 1099 contractor, Business owner, Self-employed | Self-employed, Business owner |
| Social Security counts as income | No | Not specified |
| Pension income recognized | No | Not specified |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Cyprus Digital Nomad Visa | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 5 weeks | Not specified |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 7 weeks | Not specified |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | 3 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | Yes | No (No medical exam required) |
| Field | Cyprus Digital Nomad Visa | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not specified |
| Days in country, per year | 183 days | Not specified |
| Maximum consecutive days abroad | 90 days | Not specified |
| Field | Cyprus Digital Nomad Visa | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Not specified |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Cyprus Digital Nomad Visa | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Not specified |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | No | Not specified |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Language requirement | Not specified | Documented relevant knowledge in Swedish and/or English required; very good Swedish if extensive local contacts (e.g... |
| Required documents | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page |