Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) vs Sweden Self-Employment Permit
Austria freelancer route: $130 fee, 24 months. Sweden freelancer route: 24 months.
Built for: Freelancers.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Fee
- $130
- Duration
- 24 months
- Processing
- 3-3 weeks
- Duration
- 24 months
Next steps
Austria Self-Employed Residence
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route)
Sweden Self-Employment Permit
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Extra income per child dependent
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Language requirement
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
US tax treaty
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Freelancer | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 24 | 24 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Freelancers, FIRE | Freelancers |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Non-EU nationals only | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $20,700 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Business creation, Capital transfer | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $130 | Not specified |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $190 |
| Extra income per adult dependent | Not specified | 50% |
| Extra income per child dependent | Not specified | 25% |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Business income | Not specified |
| Employment types accepted | Self-employed | Self-employed, Business owner |
| Social Security counts as income | No | Not specified |
| Pension income recognized | No | Not specified |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 3 weeks | Not specified |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 3 weeks | Not specified |
| Where to apply | Not specified | 3 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 2 years | Not specified |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | Sweden Self-Employment Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Not specified |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | No | Not specified |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Language requirement | Not specified | Documented relevant knowledge in Swedish and/or English required; very good Swedish if extensive local contacts (e.g... |
| Required documents | Not specified | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page |