Morocco Retirement Visa vs Morocco Self-Employed / Travailleur Indépendant Residency
Morocco retirement route: 12 months. Morocco freelancer route: 12 months.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Duration
- 12 months
- Duration
- 12 months
- Processing
- 25.7 weeks
Next steps
Morocco Retirement
Morocco Self-Employed /
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Morocco Retirement Visa
Morocco Self-Employed / Travailleur Indépendant Residency
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
US tax treaty
| Field | Morocco Retirement Visa | Morocco Self-Employed / Travailleur Indépendant Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 | 12 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Retirees | Freelancers |
| Minimum age, years | 55 | Not specified |
| Practical minimum age, years | 55 | Not specified |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Morocco Retirement Visa | Morocco Self-Employed / Travailleur Indépendant Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Field | Morocco Retirement Visa | Morocco Self-Employed / Travailleur Indépendant Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Employment types accepted | Not specified | Business owner, Self-employed |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes (Social Security counts) | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | No | Yes (Local work permitted) |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Morocco Retirement Visa | Morocco Self-Employed / Travailleur Indépendant Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | Not specified | 25.7 weeks |
| Where to apply | Applications are submitted in-country at the local Bureau des Étrangers (police/immigration office) in your city of...See where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | Not specified | No |
| Field | Morocco Retirement Visa | Morocco Self-Employed / Travailleur Indépendant Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes (Path to permanent residency) | No |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not specified | Not applicable |
| Field | Morocco Retirement Visa | Morocco Self-Employed / Travailleur Indépendant Residency |
|---|---|---|
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Morocco Retirement Visa | Morocco Self-Employed / Travailleur Indépendant Residency |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No (No local bank account needed) | Yes |
| Apostille required | Not specified | No |
| US FBI background check required | Not specified | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |