Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa vs Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit
Montenegro digital nomad route: $25 fee, 12 months. Romania freelancer route.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Income
- $1,542/mo
- Fee
- $25
- Duration
- 12 months
Next steps
Montenegro Digital Nomad
Romania PFA
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa
Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa | Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Digital nomad | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 | Not specified |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Remote employees | Not specified |
| Practical minimum age, years | 18 | Not specified |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa | Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,542 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $25 | Not specified |
| Field | Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa | Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Social Security counts as income | Not specified | No |
| Pension income recognized | Not specified | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | Not specified |
| Field | Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa | Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 4 weeks | Not specified |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 6 weeks | Not specified |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa | Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | No |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Field | Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa | Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Not specified |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Montenegro Digital Nomad Visa | Romania Self-Employed (PFA) Residence Permit |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | No (No apostille needed) |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |