Mexico Digital Nomad / Remote Worker Visa vs Uruguay Retirement Visa
Mexico digital nomad route: $51 fee, 12 months. Uruguay retirement route: $100 fee, 3 months.
- Uruguay Retirement: $1,500 a month, $1,100 less than Mexico Digital Nomad.
- Mexico Digital Nomad: $51 to apply, $49 less than Uruguay Retirement.
- Income
- $2,600/mo
- Fee
- $51
- Duration
- 12 months
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $100
- Duration
- 3 months
Next steps
Mexico Digital Nomad
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Mexico Digital Nomad / Remote Worker Visa
Uruguay Retirement Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Mexico Digital Nomad / Remote Worker Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Digital nomad | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 (Longest initial stay) | 3 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Mexico Digital Nomad / Remote Worker Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $2,600 | $1,500 (Lowest known income requirement) |
| Minimum savings, one time | $73,000 | $24,000 (Lowest known savings requirement) |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | $100,000 |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Real estate, Government bonds |
| Application fee, one time | $51 (Lowest known fee) | $100 |
| Field | Mexico Digital Nomad / Remote Worker Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Remote work, Savings | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Employment types accepted | W-2 employee, 1099 contractor, Business owner, Self-employed | Not specified |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | Not specified | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 36% |
| Field | Mexico Digital Nomad / Remote Worker Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | Not specified | 1 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | Not specified | 13 weeks |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Mexico Digital Nomad / Remote Worker Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 0 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | 5 years |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 180 days |
| Field | Mexico Digital Nomad / Remote Worker Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Not specified | Hybrid |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Mexico Digital Nomad / Remote Worker Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No | No |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | No (No apostille needed) | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |