Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) vs Seychelles Digital Nomad Visa
Mauritius freelancer route: $1,000 fee, 120 months. Seychelles digital nomad route: $50 fee, 6 months.
Built for: Freelancers.
- Fee
- $1,000
- Duration
- 120 months
- Fee
- $50
- Duration
- 6 months
- Processing
- 2-4 weeks
Next steps
Mauritius Occupation Self-Employed
Seychelles Digital Nomad
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed)
Seychelles Digital Nomad Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | Seychelles Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Freelancer | Digital nomad |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 120 (Longest initial stay) | 6 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Freelancers, Passive investors | Digital nomads, Freelancers, Remote employees |
| Minimum age, years | 18 | Not specified |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | Seychelles Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum savings, one time | $50,000 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | $50,000 | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Business creation, Capital transfer | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $1,000 | $50 (Lowest known fee) |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | Seychelles Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Business income | Not specified |
| Employment types accepted | Business owner, Self-employed | W-2 employee, 1099 contractor, Business owner, Self-employed |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | Not specified | No |
| Local work permitted | Yes (Local work permitted) | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 0% |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | Seychelles Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | Not specified | 2 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | Not specified | 4 weeks |
| Where to apply | Not specified | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | Seychelles Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | No |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 0 days |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | Seychelles Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Not specified | Territorial |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | No treaty |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) | Seychelles Digital Nomad Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | No | No |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | Not specified | 6 items listedSee full list on the visa page |