Mauritius Occupation Permit (Investor) vs Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed)
Mauritius investor route: 36 months. Mauritius freelancer route: $1,000 fee, 120 months.
Built for: Freelancers and Passive investors.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Duration
- 36 months
- Fee
- $1,000
- Duration
- 120 months
Next steps
Mauritius Occupation Investor
Mauritius Occupation Self-Employed
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Mauritius Occupation Permit (Investor)
Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed)
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
US tax treaty
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Investor) | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Investor | Freelancer |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 36 | 120 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Freelancers, Passive investors | Freelancers, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Investor) | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum savings, one time | $50,000 | $50,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | $50,000 | $50,000 |
| Investment types | Business creation, Capital transfer | Business creation, Capital transfer |
| Application fee, one time | Not specified | $1,000 |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Investor) | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Business income | Business income |
| Employment types accepted | Business owner | Business owner, Self-employed |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | Not specified |
| Local work permitted | Yes | Yes |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Investor) | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) |
|---|---|---|
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Investor) | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes (Path to permanent residency) | No |
| Years to permanent residency | 3 years | Not specified |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not specified | Not applicable |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Investor) | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) |
|---|---|---|
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Investor) | Mauritius Occupation Permit (Self-Employed) |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No (No local bank account needed) | Yes |
| Apostille required | No | No |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |