Ireland Critical Skills Employment Permit vs Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent)
Ireland other route: $1,121 fee, 24 months. Ireland passive income route: 12 months, $4,350 a month.
- Ireland Critical Skills: $3,820 a month, $530 less than Ireland Stamp 0.
- Ireland Critical Skills: about 4 weeks, 22 weeks sooner than Ireland Stamp 0.
- Income
- $3,820/mo
- Fee
- $1,121
- Duration
- 24 months
- Income
- $4,350/mo
- Duration
- 12 months
- Processing
- 26-26 weeks
Next steps
Ireland Stamp 0
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Ireland Critical Skills Employment Permit
Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent)
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Ireland Critical Skills Employment Permit | Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent) |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Other | Passive income |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 24 (Longest initial stay) | 12 |
| Renewable | Yes (Renewable) | No |
| Built for | Not specified | Retirees, Passive investors, FIRE |
| Nationality restrictions | Non-EU nationals only | Non-EU nationals only |
| Field | Ireland Critical Skills Employment Permit | Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent) |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $3,820 (Lowest known income requirement) | $4,350 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $1,121 | Not specified |
| Extra income per adult dependent | Not specified | 100% |
| Field | Ireland Critical Skills Employment Permit | Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent) |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Not specified | Pension or Social Security, Savings, Passive income |
| Employment types accepted | W-2 employee | Not specified |
| Social Security counts as income | Not specified | Yes |
| Pension income recognized | Not specified | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 0% |
| Field | Ireland Critical Skills Employment Permit | Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent) |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 4 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 26 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 4 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 26 weeks |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Ireland Critical Skills Employment Permit | Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent) |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | No |
| Years to permanent residency | 2 years | Not specified |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Field | Ireland Critical Skills Employment Permit | Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Worldwide | Worldwide |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Ireland Critical Skills Employment Permit | Ireland Stamp 0 (Financially Independent) |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Not specified | Yes |
| Apostille required | No | No |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 11 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 6 items listedSee full list on the visa page |