Costa Rica Rentista Visa vs Spain Non-Lucrative Visa
Costa Rica passive income route: $250 fee, 24 months. Spain passive income route: $140 fee, 12 months.
- Costa Rica Rentista: $2,500 a month, $100 less than Spain Non-Lucrative.
- Spain Non-Lucrative: $140 to apply, $110 less than Costa Rica Rentista.
- Costa Rica Rentista: PR in 3 years, 2 sooner than Spain Non-Lucrative.
Built for: Passive investors and Retirees.
- Income
- $2,500/mo
- Fee
- $250
- Duration
- 24 months
- Income
- $2,600/mo
- Fee
- $140
- Duration
- 12 months
Next steps
Costa Rica Rentista
Spain Non-Lucrative
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Costa Rica Rentista Visa
Spain Non-Lucrative Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Extra income per adult dependent
Extra income per child dependent
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Costa Rica Rentista Visa | Spain Non-Lucrative Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Passive income | Passive income |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 24 (Longest initial stay) | 12 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Passive investors, FIRE, Retirees | Retirees, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | 18 | Not specified |
| Practical minimum age, years | 18 | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Non-EU nationals only |
| Field | Costa Rica Rentista Visa | Spain Non-Lucrative Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $2,500 (Lowest known income requirement) | $2,600 |
| Minimum savings, one time | $60,000 | $31,200 (Lowest known savings requirement) |
| Minimum investment, one time | $60,000 | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $250 | $140 (Lowest known fee) |
| Extra income per adult dependent | Not specified | 100% |
| Extra income per child dependent | Not specified | 100% |
| Field | Costa Rica Rentista Visa | Spain Non-Lucrative Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Passive income | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes | Yes |
| Pension income recognized | Yes (Pension income recognized) | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 0% |
| Field | Costa Rica Rentista Visa | Spain Non-Lucrative Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 52 weeks | Not specified |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 24 weeks | Not specified |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Costa Rica Rentista Visa | Spain Non-Lucrative Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 3 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) | 5 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 10 years (Shortest known path to citizenship) | 15 years |
| Days in country, per year | 120 days | Not specified |
| Field | Costa Rica Rentista Visa | Spain Non-Lucrative Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Not specified |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Costa Rica Rentista Visa | Spain Non-Lucrative Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | Yes |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | Not specified |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 9 items listedSee full list on the visa page |