Costa Rica Pensionado Visa vs Uruguay Retirement Visa
Costa Rica retirement route: 24 months, $1,000 a month. Uruguay retirement route: $100 fee, 3 months.
- Costa Rica Pensionado: $1,000 a month, $500 less than Uruguay Retirement.
- Uruguay Retirement: about 7 weeks, 12 weeks sooner than Costa Rica Pensionado.
- Uruguay Retirement: PR in 0 years, 3 sooner than Costa Rica Pensionado.
Built for: Retirees and FIRE.
- Income
- $1,000/mo
- Duration
- 24 months
- Processing
- 12-26 weeks
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $100
- Duration
- 3 months
Next steps
Costa Rica Pensionado
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Costa Rica Pensionado Visa
Uruguay Retirement Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Costa Rica Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 24 (Longest initial stay) | 3 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Retirees, FIRE | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | 45 (Lowest practical minimum age) | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Costa Rica Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $1,000 (Lowest known income requirement) | $1,500 |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $24,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | $100,000 |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Real estate, Government bonds |
| Application fee, one time | Not specified | $100 |
| Field | Costa Rica Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Employment types accepted | Self-employed, Business owner | Not specified |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes (Social Security counts) | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 36% |
| Field | Costa Rica Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 12 weeks | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 26 weeks | 13 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Costa Rica Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 3 years | 0 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 10 years | 5 years (Shortest known path to citizenship) |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 180 days |
| Field | Costa Rica Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Hybrid |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Costa Rica Pensionado Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | Not specified | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |