Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency vs Uruguay Retirement Visa
Costa Rica investor route: $250 fee, 24 months. Uruguay retirement route: $100 fee, 3 months.
- Uruguay Retirement: $100 to apply, $150 less than Costa Rica Inversionista Investor.
- Uruguay Retirement: about 7 weeks, 58 weeks sooner than Costa Rica Inversionista Investor.
- Uruguay Retirement: PR in 0 years, 3 sooner than Costa Rica Inversionista Investor.
Built for: Passive investors.
- Fee
- $250
- Duration
- 24 months
- Processing
- 65 weeks
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $100
- Duration
- 3 months
Next steps
Costa Rica Inversionista Investor
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency
Uruguay Retirement Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Investor | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 24 (Longest initial stay) | 3 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Passive investors | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | Not specified | $1,500 |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $24,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | $150,000 | $100,000 (Lowest known investment) |
| Investment types | Real estate, Business creation, Capital transfer | Real estate, Government bonds |
| Application fee, one time | $250 | $100 (Lowest known fee) |
| Field | Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Not specified | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Employment types accepted | Business owner, Self-employed | Not specified |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 36% |
| Field | Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | Not specified | 1 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 65 weeks | 13 weeks (Fastest known processing) |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 3 years | 0 years (Shortest known path to permanent residency) |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | 10 years | 5 years (Shortest known path to citizenship) |
| Days in country, per year | 180 days | 180 days |
| Field | Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Not specified | Hybrid |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Costa Rica Inversionista (Investor) Residency | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | Yes | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |