Brazil Self-Employed (Autônomo) Long-Term Visa vs Uruguay Retirement Visa
Brazil freelancer route. Uruguay retirement route: $100 fee, 3 months.
One of these visas has limited data on file, so some rows read Not specified. Compare the published fields only.
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $100
- Duration
- 3 months
Next steps
Brazil Self-Employed Autônomo
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Brazil Self-Employed (Autônomo) Long-Term Visa
Uruguay Retirement Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Brazil Self-Employed (Autônomo) Long-Term Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Freelancer | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | Not specified | 3 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Not specified | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Brazil Self-Employed (Autônomo) Long-Term Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | Not specified | $1,500 |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $24,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | $100,000 |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Real estate, Government bonds |
| Application fee, one time | Not specified | $100 |
| Field | Brazil Self-Employed (Autônomo) Long-Term Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Not specified | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Social Security counts as income | No | No |
| Pension income recognized | No | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | Not specified | 36% |
| Field | Brazil Self-Employed (Autônomo) Long-Term Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | Not specified | 1 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | Not specified | 13 weeks |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Brazil Self-Employed (Autônomo) Long-Term Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | No | Yes (Path to permanent residency) |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 0 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not applicable | 5 years |
| Days in country, per year | Not specified | 180 days |
| Field | Brazil Self-Employed (Autônomo) Long-Term Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Not specified | Hybrid |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Brazil Self-Employed (Autônomo) Long-Term Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | No (No apostille needed) | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |