Belize Qualified Retired Persons Program vs Belize Work Where You Vacation Program
Belize retirement route: $150 fee, 12 months. Belize digital nomad route: $250 fee, 6 months.
- Belize Retired Persons: $2,000 a month, $4,250 less than Belize Work Where.
- Belize Retired Persons: $150 to apply, $100 less than Belize Work Where.
- Income
- $2,000/mo
- Fee
- $150
- Duration
- 12 months
- Income
- $6,250/mo
- Fee
- $250
- Duration
- 6 months
Next steps
Belize Retired Persons
Belize Work Where
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Belize Qualified Retired Persons Program
Belize Work Where You Vacation Program
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Belize Qualified Retired Persons Program | Belize Work Where You Vacation Program |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Retirement | Digital nomad |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 (Longest initial stay) | 6 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Retirees, Passive investors | Digital nomads, Remote employees |
| Minimum age, years | 45 | Not specified |
| Practical minimum age, years | 45 | Not specified |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Belize Qualified Retired Persons Program | Belize Work Where You Vacation Program |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $2,000 (Lowest known income requirement) | $6,250 |
| Minimum savings, one time | $24,000 | Not specified |
| Minimum investment, one time | $24,000 | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Capital transfer | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $150 (Lowest known fee) | $250 |
| Renewal cost, one time | $25 (Lowest known renewal cost) | $250 |
| Field | Belize Qualified Retired Persons Program | Belize Work Where You Vacation Program |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Pension or Social Security, Passive income | Not specified |
| Social Security counts as income | Yes (Social Security counts) | No |
| Pension income recognized | Yes | Not specified |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | 0% |
| Field | Belize Qualified Retired Persons Program | Belize Work Where You Vacation Program |
|---|---|---|
| Where to apply | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | Apply online via the Belize Immigration Department portal at immigration.gov.bz/permits/long-stay-permit/ by creating...See where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | Not specified | No |
| Field | Belize Qualified Retired Persons Program | Belize Work Where You Vacation Program |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes (Path to permanent residency) | No |
| Years to permanent residency | 1 years | Not specified |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not specified | Not applicable |
| Days in country, per year | 30 days | Not specified |
| Field | Belize Qualified Retired Persons Program | Belize Work Where You Vacation Program |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Territorial | Territorial |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Belize Qualified Retired Persons Program | Belize Work Where You Vacation Program |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | No (No insurance requirement) | Yes |
| Local bank account required | Yes | No (No local bank account needed) |
| Apostille required | No | No |
| US FBI background check required | Not specified | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 5 items listedSee full list on the visa page | 7 items listedSee full list on the visa page |