Barbados Welcome Stamp Visa vs Uruguay Retirement Visa
Barbados digital nomad route: 12 months, $4,167 a month. Uruguay retirement route: $100 fee, 3 months.
- Uruguay Retirement: $1,500 a month, $2,667 less than Barbados Welcome Stamp.
- Barbados Welcome Stamp: about 0.8 weeks, 6.3 weeks sooner than Uruguay Retirement.
- Uruguay Retirement: 180 days a year required, 180 more than Barbados Welcome Stamp.
- Income
- $4,167/mo
- Duration
- 12 months
- Processing
- 0.5-1 weeks
- Income
- $1,500/mo
- Fee
- $100
- Duration
- 3 months
Next steps
Barbados Welcome Stamp
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Barbados Welcome Stamp Visa
Uruguay Retirement Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum income, per month
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Maximum income from local work, %
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization
Days in country, per year
Tax regime
US tax treaty
| Field | Barbados Welcome Stamp Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Digital nomad | Retirement |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 12 (Longest initial stay) | 3 |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Digital nomads, Remote employees | Retirees, FIRE, Passive investors |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | 18 (Lowest practical minimum age) | 55 |
| Nationality restrictions | Open to all nationalities | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Barbados Welcome Stamp Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum income, per month | $4,167 | $1,500 (Lowest known income requirement) |
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $24,000 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | $100,000 |
| Investment types | Not applicable | Real estate, Government bonds |
| Application fee, one time | Not specified | $100 |
| Renewal cost, one time | $3,000 | Not specified |
| Field | Barbados Welcome Stamp Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Remote work | Pension or Social Security, Passive income |
| Employment types accepted | W-2 employee, 1099 contractor, Business owner, Self-employed | Not specified |
| Social Security counts as income | Not specified | No |
| Pension income recognized | Not specified | No |
| Local work permitted | No | No |
| Maximum income from local work, % | 0% | 36% (Highest local income allowance) |
| Field | Barbados Welcome Stamp Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 0.5 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 1 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 1 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 13 weeks |
| Where to apply | 3 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page | Not specified |
| Interview required | No | No |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Barbados Welcome Stamp Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | Not specified | 0 years |
| Years to citizenship, PR plus naturalization | Not specified | 5 years |
| Days in country, per year | 0 days (Fewest days required in country) | 180 days |
| Field | Barbados Welcome Stamp Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Tax regime | Not specified | Hybrid |
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Barbados Welcome Stamp Visa | Uruguay Retirement Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | No (No apostille needed) | Yes |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Required documents | 5 items listedSee full list on the visa page | Not specified |