Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) vs UK Innovator Founder Visa
Austria freelancer route: $130 fee, 24 months. United Kingdom other route: $1,700 fee, 36 months.
- Austria Self-Employed Residence: $130 to apply, $1,570 less than United Kingdom UK.
- Austria Self-Employed Residence: about 3 weeks, 2.5 weeks sooner than United Kingdom UK.
Built for: Freelancers.
- Fee
- $130
- Duration
- 24 months
- Processing
- 3-3 weeks
- Fee
- $1,700
- Duration
- 36 months
- Processing
- 3-8 weeks
Next steps
Austria Self-Employed Residence
We may earn a commission if you apply through these links. Eligibility guidance is not legal advice.
Side by side
Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route)
UK Innovator Founder Visa
Visa type
Status
Initial duration, months
Renewable
Built for
Minimum age, years
Practical minimum age, years
Nationality restrictions
Processing time, minimum (weeks)
Processing time, maximum (weeks)
Where to apply
Interview required
Medical exam required
Minimum savings, one time
Minimum investment, one time
Investment types
Application fee, one time
Renewal cost, one time
Income sources accepted
Employment types accepted
Social Security counts as income
Pension income recognized
Local work permitted
Health insurance required
Local bank account required
Apostille required
US FBI background check required
Certificate of coverage required
Language requirement
Required documents
Leads to permanent residency
Years to permanent residency
US tax treaty
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type | Freelancer | Other |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Initial duration, months | 24 | 36 (Longest initial stay) |
| Renewable | Yes | Yes |
| Built for | Freelancers, FIRE | Freelancers |
| Minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Practical minimum age, years | Not specified | 18 |
| Nationality restrictions | Non-EU nationals only | Open to all nationalities |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum savings, one time | Not specified | $1,679 |
| Minimum investment, one time | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Investment types | Business creation, Capital transfer | Not applicable |
| Application fee, one time | $130 (Lowest known fee) | $1,700 |
| Renewal cost, one time | Not specified | $2,120 |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Income sources accepted | Business income | Not specified |
| Employment types accepted | Self-employed | Business owner, Self-employed |
| Social Security counts as income | No | Not specified |
| Pension income recognized | No | Not specified |
| Local work permitted | No | Yes (Local work permitted) |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Processing time, minimum (weeks) | 3 weeks | 3 weeks |
| Processing time, maximum (weeks) | 3 weeks (Fastest known processing) | 8 weeks |
| Where to apply | Not specified | 2 items listedSee where to apply on the visa page |
| Interview required | No (No interview required) | Yes |
| Medical exam required | No | No |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Leads to permanent residency | Yes | Yes |
| Years to permanent residency | 2 years | Not specified |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| US tax treaty | Not specified | Not specified |
| Field | Austria Self-Employed Residence Permit (Gewerbeschein Route) | UK Innovator Founder Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Health insurance required | Yes | No (No insurance requirement) |
| Local bank account required | No | No |
| Apostille required | No | No |
| US FBI background check required | No | No |
| Certificate of coverage required | No | No |
| Language requirement | Not specified | English language proficiency at CEFR Level B2 (speaking and listening) required, proven by approved tests like IELTS... |
| Required documents | Not specified | 8 items listedSee full list on the visa page |